[READ] The Magnolia Sword A Ballad of Mulan AUTHOR Sherry Thomas – surreycoltscricket.co.uk

I even read the notes at the back of the book and the acknowledgements to see if the author had any experience with these disabilities or if anyone helped her write about them but there was unfortunately nothing but please note that I read an ARC version Another thing that let me down is how confusing one of the families was I WAS LIKE OKAY SO SHE S HIS AUNT was like okay so she s his aunt married his father so is now her stepmother Aaaaand one last thing i promise this review isn t all negative lol but the ending in my opinion was very underwhelming It started getting so exciting and there was an epic battle but then everything that happened was so conveniently wrapped up and anticlimactic and ust I wanted BUT I loved how much research went into this and I LOVED being transported back to this time I could picture everything so perfectly in my mind I also loved like I said earlier the chemistry between the two main characters but I wish we got a bit romanceOverall I enjoyed it but some of it really let me down But don t take my word for the rep I d definitely recommend checking out some own voices reviews I ll try and find some when I m not about to fall asleep haha A Heart As Limitless As The Sea trigger warnings slurs crpple very uestionable disability rep sexism death of loved ones in the past war and everything that comes with it death gore murder violence etcHuge thank you to Allen and Unwin Australia for the ARC CHINESE PERIOD MULAN RETELLING PLUS MARTIAL ARTSI ll be honest I have a soft spot for this novel because I m a simp for fancy flashy martial arts points for style right The prose is simplistic and trim and yet richly atmospheric The author has a clear vision for the settings and it s obvious in the traces of her figurative brush from the vibrant deliberate dabs to the subtle touches all coalescing into artistically authentic vignettes of fifth century China It s proof of all the research that has been put into this that the descriptions are to me at once foreign and familiar as if full of imagined pasts and missed memories and a longing for a home I d never been to don t The Ausar Auset Nutrition Handbook judgeust my smol Chinese heart getting nostalgia for thousands of years agoThe plot hits all the right notes at times It S Tense And Energetic s tense and energetic at times it s soft poignant and full of deeper thought And the romantic elements are threaded so seamlessly throughout from the deliberate ambiguity of dialogue haha double entendre lobe it to scenes of tender and uninhibited vulnerability for sanity s sake kiss already405 A Mulan retelling my heart says yes but my head says you ve been burned befor. He Great Wall to face the enemy beyond Mulan and the princeling must find a way to unwind their past unmask a traitor and uncover the plans for the Rouran invasion before it's too lateInspired by wuxia martial arts dramas as well as the centuries old ballad of Mulan The Magnolia Sword is perfect for fans of Renee Ahdieh Marie Lu or Kristin Cashore a thrilling romantic and sharp edged novel that lives up to its beloved heroine. .



SUMMARY Ó eBook, ePUB or Kindle PDF ↠ Sherry Thomas

.

The Magnolia Sword A Ballad of MulanThis is the first novel I signed up as an editor at Lee Low and it has all the excellent things you want a Mulan retelling to have a Mulan who s figuring out who she is an epic sweep in the war against the Northerners family drama terrific fight scenes romance I ve loved reading every draft and I think readers will love it too Loved the martial arts liked the characters not a fan of the war strategyAlso super weird reading a rather modern first person account of something that allegedly was taking place back in 484 ADBut I liked it allegedly was taking place back in 484 ADBut I liked it of the best things about this book in my opinion is Mulan s fear She s a trained warrior which is excellent and she is loyal to her family so she doesn t think twice about enlisting to save the rest of her family Her intentions are honourable But she wants to come home to them so if that means hiding out on the sidelines then that s what Last time a book lured me in with the promise of a Mulan retelling I was so disappointed because the storyline barely resembled Mulan save for the fact that the heroine dressed as a boy yes Flame in the Mist I m looking at you But this premise sounds like an actual retelling Flame in the Mist I m looking at you But this premise sounds like an actual retelling by a Chinese American author who knows her shit So you d better deliver me what you promise book MULAN RETELLING I really hope this is legitOoo this finally has a title The Magnolia part really makes me think of the Mulan Chinese drama I watched a while back I don t think I ve actually read a novelised version of Mulan before so this was a first It s obviously not the disney version and this is rooted in actual history I learned so much about China 5th century AD and after reading the author s note where she spent so much time in research and learning the roots of the infamous tale I was ust really pleased to have the chance to read this story from an ownvoices Chinese perspective tooI definitely recommend going into it expecting the emphasis to be on military excursions roadtripping but like with horses and historical accuracy It isn t the flashy or humorous adventure style of the movie Admittedly HF isn t where my heart lies but I did love Mulan and Kai go from their family feud to uietly admitting they didn t really want to stab each other with swords and instead maybe hold hands or something softly adorableFamily Honour Loyalty Introspection If there was one person I knew I could trust to do a retelling of the Mulan ballad it would be Sherry Thomas I am so pleased to say that trust wasn t misplaced because not only was this an incredible read but it was captivating entertaining and had. CHINA 484 ADA Warrior in DisguiseAll her life Mulan has trained for one purpose to win the duel that every generation in her family must fight If she prevails she can reunite a pair of priceless heirloom swords separated decades earlier and avenge her father who was paralyzed in his own duelThen a messenger from the Emperor arrives demanding that all families send one soldier to fight the Rouran invaders in the north Mulan's. Enough of Sherry s creative imagination added to the story that it almost felt like it could stand up all on it s own and not even be a retelling while still maintaining the integrity of the original It short it was breathtaking So hard to put down so beautifully done and so completely addicting I truly did not want this story to end and I loved every heart stopping heart warming heart pounding page of itARC provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review IT S ON SALE FOR 199 What is courage but strength in the face of fear representation own voices Chinese rep gay rep disabilities father is paralysed from the waist down and another character has an unspecified disability I honestly think the disability rep is verrryyyyyy uestionabletrigger warnings are listed at the bottom of this review and may contain spoilers 3 5 s t a r s I was SO excited for this book A Mulan retelling by a Chinese author YES YES AND YES PLEASE And it was good But I definitely had some issues with it so let s get into itSo this story follows Hua Mulan obviously lol When she was ust a child her twin brother tragically died and instead of removing his name from the official records her father removed Mulan s name and made her pretend to be him ever since she was young Only her family members know her true identity At the beginning of the book we learn that her family has also been in a centuries long feud with another family and each generation the heirs get together for a duel Mulan has gone centuries long feud with another family and each generation the heirs get together for a duel Mulan has gone 3 times for a practice duel with the other heir but they always cover their faces whenever they duel Then the war comes And Each Household Must Send each household must send man to fight and of course Mulan goes When she arrives at the war camp however one of the royal duke s sons happens to be there and he looks very familiarSounds amazing right And to start off with it was The story was so fun the chemistry and tension between the two main characters was SO good and I was loving it But then came the VERY uestionable disability representation Mulan s father was hurt during his duel back in the day and is now paralysed from the waist down The way these characters view his disability is honestly terrible There is use of a slur and it s implied that because of his disability his life is awful it s also implied that is awful It s also implied that character has a disability that I cannot name it s not explicitly stated but it s said that he is in his early thirties but still has the mind of a child and that he becomes anxious and difficult to manage when he is farther than twenty paces away from his mother and ust yikes. Father cannot go Her brother is ust a child So she ties up her hair takes up her sword and La Vilaine Lulu joins the army as a manA War for a DynastyThanks to her martial arts skills Mulan is chosen for an elite team under the command of the princeling the royal duke's son who is also the handsomest man she's ever seen But the princeling has secrets of his own which explode into Mulan's life and shake up everything she knows As they cross

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *